Local Agriculture Leaders to be Awarded at Annual Banquet

COLUMBUS – Local agriculture leaders will be honored at an annual reception Tuesday evening.

The Columbus Nebraska Area Chamber of Commerce is holding its 47th Annual Rural Recognition Banquet at the Platte County Agricultural Park.

Columbus Area Chamber President K.C. Belitz said the event provides an opportunity to recognize the communities agricultural leaders.


“We all know certainly Columbus takes pride in the industrial economy, and certainly rightfully so,” Belitz commented. “At the same time agriculture has always been, and I’m sure will always be,  really the cornerstone of this region, of this part of the world.”

A social hour will begin at 6:00 p.m. with dinner being served at 6:30 p.m. followed by awards and entertainment.

Awards will be presented by the Agribusiness Committee of the Chamber.

The 2015 award-winners being honored are:

  • Behlen Mfg. Co. will be Agribusiness Pioneer
  •  Ken Ebel is Outstanding Senior Farmer
  • Joanell Klug is Outstanding Woman in Agriculture
  •  *Troy Brandt was selected as Outstanding Farmer